The unquiet land-Barkha Dutt

How does Barkha Dutt deals with so much especially misogyny?

I thought this is a memoir but rather, it is a look at India through Authors eyes and experiences, investigating some of the “fault lines”: gender, caste, religion and terrorism. Also rather than following a fixed timeline she jumps between big topics like Kargil war, Nirbhaya case ,the 2004 Tsunami, 26/11,2002 Gujarat riots,the lynching of Mohammad Akhlaq.

For me it was a difficult read,too intense at times, I felt like keeping the book down yet I came back to it later for the sake of finishing, You can feel the author pouring her heart out on a lot of topics and for that quotient I completed it also I don’t believe in leaving things incomplete.

Tittle- This Unquiet Land: Stories from India’s Fault Lines

Author-Barkha Dutt

Edition-illustrated

Publishers-Aleph Book Company

Length-324 pages

Published by drficticity

A twenty something girl who loves to read and talk about books & Stories and ideas

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started