Ghachar ghochar

As they move from a cramped, ant-infested shack to a larger house on the upper side of Bangalore, and try to adjust to a new way of life the family dynamic begins to shift. Allegiances realign; marriages are arranged and begin to falter; and conflict brews ominously in the background. Things become “ghachar ghochar”—a nonsense phrase uttered by one meaning something tangled beyond repair, a knot that can’t be untied.

Kim Jiyoung Born 1982

This book reminded me of the hundreds of women who go through their day with these microaggressions just in their everyday lives without even mentioning them because they are so many,women have learned to live their lives crossing this maze of patriarchy. One of the best books I have read in 2020,
This book is in a way life of every woman who has ever been born on the face of this earth and dare I say “lucky ones” because these are the things we ignore and there are much worse things happening to women in all parts of the globe.

The colour purple

Alice Walker’s epistolary novel first published in 1982 went on to win the National Book Award and a Pulitzer Prize. Although I’m always abit cynical about award winning books but here when I started to read it you realise why this book has been so popular with many people. Celia who initially writes letters toContinue reading “The colour purple”

The diary of a young girl

Blurb Discovered in the attic in which she spent the last years of her life, Anne Frank’s remarkable diary has become a world classic—a powerful reminder of the horrors of war and an eloquent testament to the human spirit. In 1942, with the Nazis occupying Holland, a thirteen-year-old Jewish girl and her family fled theirContinue reading “The diary of a young girl”

The Miniaturist

About the book Set in seventeenth century Amsterdam–a city ruled by glittering wealth and oppressive religion–a masterful debut steeped in atmosphere and shimmering with mystery, in the tradition of Emma Donoghue, Sarah Waters, and Sarah Dunant. “There is nothing hidden that will not be revealed . . .” On a brisk autumn day in 1686,Continue reading “The Miniaturist”

Love stories that touched my heart

Blurb Love only a four letter word, yet its so powerful that it can conquer anything in this world! We’ve all experienced the first flush of love and remember the lingering fragrance of it. For ages Love has remained one of the most cherished experiences that everyone wishes to live through at least once. Humanity,Continue reading “Love stories that touched my heart”

Women’s History Month book recommendations

So March is celebrated as women’s history month world wide so here’s my list of ten books by women I would suggest for the month. This list is definitely not all inclusive in any ways but I have tried to include books from different time periods and places but most importantly all these books inContinue reading “Women’s History Month book recommendations”

A long Petal of the sea

Publisher – BloomsburyAuthor – Isabel AllendeLength – 336 pages Genre – Historical Fiction (inspired by real story) Rating – 5⭐ /5 I would probably never be able to express how much I loved this book and the Deep impact it had on me as a human, in the times of desperate needs human lives becomesContinue reading “A long Petal of the sea”

Create your website at WordPress.com
Get started